Resting the Mind

So, when was it I wrote here last? My urge to communicate to the (cyber) world is dwindling (un)fortunately. I think when hell broke loose soon to be one year ago, I wanted everyone to get a wake-up call: don’t waste your life, don’t take anything for granted, don’t worry, be happy, take care of your family and friends and the list goes on. It’s perhaps time for me to rest the mind or as Captain J. A. Hadfield once put it:

This art of resting the mind and the power of dismissing from it all care and worry is probably one of the secrets of energy in our great men.

Now? I am slowly living normally. I look forward to starting work again, I look forward to spending Christmas in its true sense and I have ENERGY! I’m starting to feel like a Duracell battery again.

On the other hand, according to Albert Camus:

Nobody realizes that some people expend tremendous energy merely to be normal.

1 Comment»

  Lisa Andrews wrote @

Dearest Maria, Resting the mind is certainly one of the most uplifting and happy entries in your journal. So much wisdom that can barely be captured in words, but as always, you express yourself beautifully. You are right at the very top of my list of things (people?) to celebrate this year, right next to my husband, my three amazing children, and my nephew Alex who, by the grace of God, is coming home from Iraq this week. All our love to you and your family from your American cousins. Merry Christmas, xoxoxo Lisa
PS. Why not plan a trip to Vermont in 2008?!


Leave a Reply

