Dancing Bag

I’ve had some 72 hours to think about the new turn life suddenly took on Monday. That piece of A4 paper where it read that there was no visible tumour residue is my ticket back to the cat race, I suppose. Naturally I’m elated and a huge burden has been lifted.

I was taken out of the race on January 31st, over night. Eight months later I’m supposedly back in, after a neurological consultation. It’s all so abrupt and I feel as if I need to catch my breath. I have for the past eight months been contemplating the possibility that I may not get to be a part of my husband and son’s lives.

I feel like the white feather in Forrest Gump blowing around in the gusts of wind, or the “dancing bag” in American Beauty. Hopefully I will get a chance to catch my breath when Zaman and I fly to Toronto on October 5th. My need for nostalgia is still pertinent. Hopefully going away for a while will help me gain perspective and a sense of reality.

5 Comments»

  Ann-Louise K wrote @

GRATTIS!!!
Underbara nyheter!!!
Gud hör bön!!

Hoppas vi kan ses snart!

Kramar
Ann-Louise och grabbarna

  Kate Cosgrove wrote @

Hi Maria, just reading your blog after looking around my facebook friends and so pleased to hear your good news. Hope you had a nice relaxing time in Toronto. Kate x

  Hanna wrote @

I love that “dancing bag” scene. I have been back to work for two days after my 2month long sick leave and feel a bit like the bag myself. Hope you are having a fabulous time in Canada. Let me know when you get back and I’ll give you a call

Hugs xxx
Hanna

  Emma wrote @

Grattis Maria! Nu är du den enda i släkten som kan skryta med att du har papper på att du är frisk i huvudet!
Vi glädjs verkligen med dig!

Kramar kusin Emma!

  Tim Wilson wrote @

Hi Maria,

The dancing bag scene from American Beauty encapsulates life – that scene is the essence of American Beauty. It’s one of those few times when a packed cinema audience is at silence in wonder at the genius of it and the context behind. Living and appreciating the moment.

Lester Burnham: It’s hard to stay mad when there’s so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once… and it’s too much. My heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst. And then I remember… to relax, and not try to hold on to it. And then it flows through me like rain. And I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life. You have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m sure. Don’t worry… you will someday.

I just want to say that your faith and spirit stands alone amongst any one I know. Continue with the same joie de vivre as I know you always have done.

Onwards and upwards… live the moment Maria.

Love,
Tim x


Leave a Reply

