Devotion

Allegiance, constancy, dedication, devotedness, devotion, faith, faithfulness, fastness, fealty, loyalty, steadfastness… these are all synonyms for what we in Swedish call TROHET. I found a Swedish poem on page 28 in the poem book Kärleken en bro by Margareta Melin, which I thought I would share with you:

Trohet mot varandra
kan det vara något annat
än trohet på djupet mot sig själv?

En enda trohet önskar jag
av de människor jag älskar:
att de är trogna sin egen väg.

Den som är trogen mot sig själv
är trogen mot livet-
och därmed också mot mig.

I was at a hen party (möhippa) yesterday and on the boat trip back from Elvsborgs Fästning, a 16th century island fort, I got into a conversation with one of the girls who had recently held a sermon relating to “the will of God v.s. my own will”. I don’t know how far one can know the will of God but the poem above summed it up for me.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

