Forrest Gump

I want to be Forrest Gump. I just finished watching the movie (OK, I continued watching the end of CSI Las Vegas and the beginning of season 3 of 24 before typing this) and it’s 02:10 am. I’m thinking about Forrest Gump when I should be sleeping. I don’t have insomnia at the moment, it’s just that Zaman and I have come to a compromise. He gets Thursdays and I get Monday evenings to do what I want. We also get every other Wednesday as I want to go to Toastmasters and well, I presume he wants to play World of Warcraft.

See, compromises help maintain the peace and we’re getting better at it. Now I don’t have to bitch and he doesn’t have to yell at me. You must have heard these, I’m sure: “Life’s a bitch and then you marry one” or “Life sucks and then you marry one who doesn’t”. Either way, life’s less sucks and bitchy, which is a development. No wonder the world looks as it does when people can’t get along, even at home, who are from the same culture, creed, heck we even look like siblings!

When it is at its worse, I want to go out running. At the moment I don’t quite have the energy to run, but I can cycle. Problem is that it doesn’t really solve the problem. Forrest started running some four times cross-America when Jenny left him. I haven’t been left by anyone, yet.

“…maybe it’s both, maybe both are happening at the same time.”

4 Comments»

  Martin wrote @

Run Forrest… Run…

  skablifrisk wrote @

“There are lots of ways of being miserable, but there’s only one way of being comfortable, and that is to stop running round after happiness. If you make up your mind not to be happy there’s no reason why you shouldn’t have a fairly good time.”

Edith Wharton (1862 – 1937),
The Last Asset, 1904

  Maria A-Z wrote @

Whilst on the subject, here’s another good quote about “running” I found:
“All human beings should try to learn before they die what they are running from, and to, and why.”
James Thurber (1894 – 1961)

  skablifrisk wrote @

And my absolute final before I head off for my doctor’s appointment (cycling):
“I believe that every human has a finite number of heart-beats. I don’t intend to waste any of mine running around doing exercises.”
Buzz Aldrin (1930 – )
Good ol’ Buzz Aldrin. Always the right things to say. Too bad he wasn’t first at taking that giant leap for mankind…


Leave a Reply

