Inshahallah

Massassauga Provincial Park, September 11, 2001

It seems that one of my favorite words “inshahallah” (God willing), which I have come to use when referring to the past three months of my life, figure in both the Arabic and Hebrew language. I don’t believe that everything that happens is the work of God. How can I when “people die, buildings burn…”? However, the fact that “…(but) love lasts forever” makes me hopeful that God does play a role, somewhere.

By Martin Hidinger

On Saturday morning I listened to the last five minutes of the sermon held by the “Youth Pastor at Fiskeback Evangelical Covenant Church” for the thirty odd 15 year-olds getting confirmed. I sometimes pass by the church when out walking or cycling to light a candle or two. Call me whatever you like. I usually say that I’m a Christian-Buddhist-Scientist. Suits me perfectly. I realise this religion may be the fourth arm of Abraham, Bahá’í Faith. Praise the Lord, it too has it’s governing body in “Israel”.

“Allt som sker utgår inte från Guds hand men allt som sker ryms i Hans hand”

I had fought a battle with my husband and cycled off to lick my wounds. To regain some of my dignity I was going to do a Forrest Gump. Lucky for me (but perhaps a great loss for Sweden), I didn’t get further than Citrusgatan 16. In there someone started talking about how the Christian faith is all about love and forgiveness, bla, bla, bla. I hate it when others are right and Maria is wrong. I’ll never get used to that part in my life.

I recently flipped through all the cards and letters that have travelled through my family’s postbox these past weeks and they are all beautiful. There are so many of us who have the gift of words. I don’t mind having fika either, though, and I have a long wait ahead of me so feel free to ring me. I’ve lost my calendar and my mobile is not permitting outgoing calls/texts (i.e. Maria therapy).

Thanks for the photos from Canada, Martin, where I hope to go around October 7th (Thanksgiving). I hope you don’t mind me publishing them. I don’t think I ever got an answer from you when I asked. I took your silence as “informed consent” (don’t ever try that for enrolment in clinical trials).

Should I add that the first photo, from Massassauga Provincial Park, was taken on September 11, 2001 and the second a few days later? As I am still a blue girl, my family were relieved to receive the card containing one simple text that helped them get through rough times beyond belief. Thank you.

How can there not be a God?

Inshahallah.

1 Comment»

  Martin wrote @

Of course you can use my photos on your site. Coming to Canada in October? That sounds great. I hope we’ll get a chance to meet up. Keep me posted. 🙂


Leave a Reply

