Antimanic Medication

My Neurologist is starting me up on Hermolepsin Retard (carbamazepine). I just found out and I am going to pick up the prescription before I head off to the airport tomorrow for a weekend retreat chez Anna.

Description
Carbamazepine is given as a monotherapy or in combination with lithium or neuroleptics and has been found useful in the treatment of acute mania and the prophylactic treatment of bipolar (manic-depressive) disorders. Carbamazepine is an anticonvulsant and specific analgesic for trigeminal neuralgia.

Just perfect. Not sure how I am suppose to take the above description from RealMentalHealth.com. I guess I should just trust my physician that he knows what he’s doing. I had a seizure when all this started. I don’t want another one, mostly for reasons relating to my driver’s licence. If that means taking a tricyclic compound, so be it.

In films murders are always very clean. I show how difficult it is and what a messy thing it is to kill a man.
Alfred Hitchcock
No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

