Brain Dead

Thank you WordPress! Finally I find a “Speaking Freely” post, i.e. “Words and Phrases You Should Avoid” that manages to put a hunch I have been carrying within me for a long time into words. Admittedly, I have somewhere in my jungle of pages and posts used the phrase “paradigm shift”. If I can make myself feel bothered, I can go back and change the phrase. Can anyone come up with an alternative expression? Common guys, help me all you organ donors out there, “you princes of Maine, you kings of New England”. What about “think outside the box”? I love this one. What box am I in right now? What has boxes to do with anything? As I said earlier, I hate categorising people – I have been categorised most of my life. Why should boxes be any different?

Speaking of categorizing, I can’t decide whether to write using English or American spelling. I was told early on in England (pardon me, the United Kingdom) not to even think about using Z’s. But I like Zees for some reason. But the warning that really struck home was, I should never ever consider mixing the two or my papers will be…I can’t remember the expression, sorry. Ouch, and I spent close to five years living in utopic Toronto. Hands up if you’re confused!?

Below is taken from Wikipedia, currently my favorite “Second Life” in this world (FBI/CSI beware). Blogging is a close second. I can’t wait for my son to wake up so that I can try this song on him. We’ll see who of my two boys wake up first…

The tune to “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” also works for the Greek alphabet (although much less used):

Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta,

Epsilon, Zeta, Eta, Theta,

Iota, Kappa, Lambda, Mu,

Nu, Xi, Omicron, Pi,

Rho, Sigma, Tau, Upsilon,

Phi, Chi, Psi kai Omega.

Note: kai (και) is the Greek word for “and”.

1 Comment»

  DG wrote @

Paradigm shift? How about new standard? New ideal?

What has boxes to do with anything?

Exactly. ; )


Leave a Reply

