Lullabies

Tomorrow is the day when everything starts changing, hopefully for the better. J.R.R. Tolkien once wrote, “Little by little, one travels far.” So right you are my old man.

Our son loves the CD collection at home. He loves the collection so much that he wants his own and secretly stashes it behind the bookshelf. The routine is pretty standard and a couple of times a week my husband or I have to break our backs to get to it (we are slow learners). Guess which CD I pulled out this morning? “Lullabies from the Axis of Evil“. I bought this CD after our honeymoon to Israel/Palestine in October 2004. One of my best friends, who is possibly even more blond and blue-eyed than myself, decided to make life easy and marry a Palestinian. Going back a number of years, the couple lives in Jerusalem and they were nice to lend us their sofa-bed FOR TEN DAYS.

This one trip made me realise that there are two sides to most stories. If you didn’t know- life is all about perspectives, depending of course on who you ask. One of my favourite artists s(t)ings,

In Europe and America, there’s a growing feeling of hysteria
Conditioned to respond to all the threats
In the rhetorical speeches of the Soviets
Mr. Krushchev said we will bury you
I don’t subscribe to this point of view
It would be such an ignorant thing to do
If the Russians love their children too []

I would love for him to change the song and instead sing “If the Palestinians and Israelis love their children too“. Who doesn’t “love their children” and want them to have a better future? I do at least, and of course as always, I speak for myself.

I don’t wish to get political, but did you know that unless you are an Israeli soldier, you are not allowed into the West Bank, foreigners and certain Palestinians excluded? This is of course for protection and settlements are an entirely different story. Think about it, you are sharing a piece of land the size of Småland/New Jersey i.e. 424 km from north to south and your neighbours can’t see what life is like for you. On the other hand, the roads are so bad going from the checkpoints to Ramallah or Bethlehem that unless you have an errand I can understand why you’d hesitate []

Pink bike at checkpoint

My husband and I were blessed, lucky, fluky (call it what you like). With our Swedish passports we were let through and had a marvelous time- on both sides of the checkpoints.I feel fortunate to have Jewish friends, Palestinian friends and a certain blond Swedish friend living in Jerusalem. It makes (my) life more rewarding, to say the least. Furthermore, CDs like “Lullabies from the Axis of Evil” make me hopeful for the future. I think that even if I don’t get through the next year(s), at least the human race is smart enough to realise that life is too precious to throw away.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

