Happy and Sad

The concept of being happy and/or sad has kept my mind busy for quite some time. I have attempted to discuss it with various people, but only one has really come close to helping me understand. An easy way of defining the terms are of course to look them up in Merriam-Webster.

Happiness: “a state of well-being and contentment; a pleasurable or satisfying experience”. Sadness: “affected with or expressive of grief or unhappiness.”

Am I happy, am I sad? Both, I would say. I am actually happier than I’ve been for a long time. Strange, huh? How can you be “happy” when you have been diagnosed with a potentially terminal illness? It helps being showered with affection from everyone that has come to be an important part in my life. Happiness for me is also seeing father and son playing together, coffee with my mother, Mallards in the pond behind the house, knitted hats, Mulberry trees, insightful conversations and emails, reading and learning new things (like the complexity of Islamic mosaic), speaking to a master of divinity, “raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens”.

What makes me feel sad? Losing a friend, tumour statistics, starved children, World of Warcraft and “when the dog bites” (I like bees and most don’t sting).

My list of “happiness” is definitely longer at the moment and I hope it stays that way, even after I start treatment. I was given a great quote the other day, from a friend of the family who is actually an Undertaker (what can I say? I have connections).

“Vår grämelse över dagen som gått, vår oro över dagen som kommer – gör att vi glömmer dagen som är!”

English translation:

“Our fret over the day that has passed, our worry for the day that is to come – make us forget the day that is now!”

1 Comment»

  Emma Liljeberg wrote @

Tack för att vi får läsa din blogg! Den betyder faktiskt mycket för mig, och då tror jag att jag talar för många av dina vänner.

Jag är glad att du orkar se både ljusa och mörka sidor av livet. Vi skulle nog alla behöva göra listor över vad som gör oss glada och ledsna. Ibland behöver man få perspektiv på tillvaraon.

Kram, Emma


Leave a Reply

