Moulage?

“Moulage?” I asked the nurses when I was back at JK yesterday. She told me it was French for casting/moulding. I guess I’ve missed a few expressions, even though I’ve studied this particular Romance language. I am starting to wonder where “all” my French has disappeared to considering the amount of time and, not to mention, capital I’ve spent on it. Paradoxically, going to France doesn’t automatically mean that you pick up the language, but there were exceptions; IMEF (Montpellier ’95) and CIDEF (Angers ’97- ’98) are two. Moreover, if I had gone to Angers a year earlier I would have been class mates with no other than the Swedish Crown Princess herself, Victoria Bernadotte. No wonder there were so many Swedes there my year. At least we could sip “café crème sur terrace” in the bistros she had allegedly graced with her presence.

Unless you are interested in French courses or Swedish Royalty and already clicking away, I thought I would let you in on what happened yesterday. Firstly, “Moulage” i.e. casting of the mask. I felt like I was back on the operating table again. However, instead of the oxygen mask, my face was now covered with something warm and wet. They were quick to “stretch” the soft plastic-like material wrapped over my mouth and nose to provide air. My masked head was subsequently strapped down and securely fastened. For the next five minutes or so a nurse massaged my face as the plastic dried. I’ve never treated myself to a facial; perhaps this is what it’s like? My masseuse seemed new to the game and under close scrutiny of another nurse. All went well apart from her forgetting that the mask was initially soft and so are my nostrils. I could only make incoherent sounds and I’m not sure whether she realized that for two long seconds I was sure to suffocate. Click here to see the final result.

I thought this was enough for one day, but no, a Computer tomography (CT) had been scheduled as well. I don’t mind the CT, as I was fortunate to get one in ER all those weeks ago (time flies, doesn’t it?). It’s just that they inject you intravenously with a contrast agent and, well, I’m not going to start rambling about needles again.

3 Comments»

  Werner Wildfang wrote @

Hi,
have been reading your blogg ever since it started – but came first round today to post a comment. Guess I was overwhelmed by your texts, the way you openly and without hesitation describe your journey – for which my family and I of course wish you the best of luck and God’s blessing!

When we moved to Fiskebäck – just across the street from your house – you were one of the first people we met and my daughters – who then were 5 and 3 – instantly took you to their heart! You were their favorite babysitter – and my wife and I were really proud to have an authorized babysitter – you had a diploma from Japan! Only that! You did a great job and my wife were finally able to get outside our house to spend some evenings together!

In a very minor way I can imagine what you feel right now. 30 years ago I did my military service and suffered a bad accident, fracturing a lot of bones in my legs and feet. Doctors did not know if I would ever be able to walk properly again. It took a lot of pain, severals operations over a couple of years and many months of physiotherapy to get rid of first one crutch and then the second one. I also wrote a diary – or at least some reflections each time I was in hospital awaiting a new operation. That helped a lot, describing what I saw and heard. I also remember lying on a stretcher, being driven or carried through endless hospital wings, praying and promising I would return with some sort of plaster one day to smooth over all the cracks in these wretched floors, because each crack or doorstep caused incredible pain when my bed or stretecher was rolled over it. Anyway: writing these things down helped a lot!!

We know that you will pull this thing through, fighting back that alien and finally conquering it entirely, elimiminating it for ever!

Take care, we think of you! Love, Werner

  skablifrisk wrote @

Tack Werner för ovan och också ett jättetack för de otroligt fina blommorna. Jag har länge tänkt att knacka på men det får bli en hälsning den här vägen först. Det känns gott att ha er familj som vänner. Grannar gör det inte sämre. Vi kanske hör av oss till flickorna ang. barnvakt framöver 🙂

  Elin Eldh wrote @

Hej! Elin (fd Holmdahl) från Lerum, här. Fick din bloggadress från min broder. Jag har varit här inne och läst i några dagar och vill bara säga att jag tänker på dig och hoppas att allt går väl. Det verkar som om du på något sätt har humöret uppe i allt elände, det känns skönt! Hälsa! // Elin


Leave a Reply

